CINP Rafaelsen Young Investigators Award

In 1986 Ole Rafaelsen and William Bunney were instrumental in establishing a CINP programme supporting the attendance of young scientists at the XVth CINP Congress in 1986.  That programme was posthumously named the Rafaelsen Fellowship Award to honor Dr. Rafaelsen, who died in 1987.

The recipients of the award presented at the CINP 2017 Thematic Meeting in Prague will be chosen by the Local Organising Committee by May 2017. A number of Awardees will be selected and presented with Awards consisting of round trip economy air travel, up to three nights’ accommodation, a certificate, a cash stipend including an element for ground transportation and waived registration fees at the CINP 2017 Thematic Meeting in Prague.


Rafaelsen Award Winner

CINP are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2017 Rafaelsen Award is:

Fernando Caravaggio

Dr. Fernando Caravaggio is a post-doctoral fellow in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto (U of T). Fernando completed his PhD in Medical Science, with a specialization in Neuroscience, from the Institute of Medical Science at the U of T. Fernando currently conducts brain imaging research at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) under the supervision of Dr. Gary Remington and Dr. Ariel Graff-Guerrero. Fernando’s area of expertise is in imaging of the striatal dopamine system with positron emission tomography (PET) and morphological brain analyses with MRI.

Fernando’s interests include elucidating the structural and neurochemical correlates of anhedonia/apathy across several neuropsychiatric disorders – including schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s disease, and depression. In recognition of his contributions to neuroreceptor research, Fernando has received several Young Investigator Awards and has recently been awarded a post-doctoral fellowship from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). Fernando’s long term goal is to one day become a clinician scientist in psychiatry.