Pioneers in Psychopharmacology Award

The Award is given at each Congress to three individuals to honour those who have made major contributions to the field as it has developed. The contributions may be in research, clinical, or administrative areas but must be internationally recognized as significant to the growth of the field. Pioneer Awardees receive round trip economy air travel and accommodation at the 31st CINP World Congress in Vienna, Austria paid registration fees and appropriate recognition at the meeting.

Previous Pioneers

2016: George Aghajanain, (USA), Sun Kil Min, (Republic of Korea), Herbert Meltzer, (USA), Stuart Montgomery, (UK)

2014: Julien Mendlewicz (Belgium), Thomas Südhof (USA), Solomon Snyder (USA)

2012: William Bunney (USA), Karl Rickels (USA), Moussa L. Youdim (Israel)

2010: Per Bech (Denmark), Salomon Langer (Israel), Teruo Okuma (Japan)

2008: Jean-Pierre Changeux (France), Samuel Gershon (USA), Hannah Steinberg (UK)

2006: Leonard Cook (USA), Fridolin Sulser (USA), Merton Sandler (UK)

2004: Hanns Hippius (Germany), Alfred Pletscher (Switzerland), Herman M. van Praag (The Netherlands)


The Executive Committee selects these individuals and is soliciting candidates from psychopharmacologists around the world. Send a letter by any mode to the President, John Krystal c/o CINP Central Office proposing any nomination and the reasons why this person should be considered for an award, with details of their principal contributions to psychopharmacology by Friday 12th January 2018.


Please send your nominations to Prof John Krystal at the following address:

CINP Central Office

Scottish Enterprise Technology Park

Nasmyth Building, 2nd Floor

60 Nasymth Avenue

East Kilbride, G75 0QR

Tel: + 44 (0) 1355 244930

Fax: + 44 (0) 1355 249959


                                  This application will be copied for submission or to distribute to others.