Log in

Presidential medal (2018)

The CINP is proud to present Professor Susan Iversen with the Presidential Medal. The Presidential Medal is presented to an individual who has had a transformative impact on the field of neuropsychopharmacology research. This award is presented in recognition of her fundamental contributions to psychopharmacology, neuropsychyology, and neuropsychopharmacology. Professor Iversen initially helped to define the role of the cerebral cortex in memory and cognition in non-human primates, first with Professor Larry Weskrantz at the University of Cambridge and then with Mortimer Mishkin at NIMH. These studies had broad implications, including implicating the lateral prefrontal cortex in cognitive control. Following a stint at Harvard Medical School, she began to use pharmacologic approaches to study the role of dopamine signaling in behavior. Her studies were among the first to focus on the role of dopamine in the nucleus accumbens, paving the way for generations of research. Professor Iversen left Cambridge in 1983to become Director of Behavioral Pharmacology at Merck, Sharp, and Dohme. Ten years later, she assumed the Chair of the Department of Experimental Psychology at Oxford University and as a Fellow of Magdalene College. . Professor Iversen also has made a lasting contribution to the field as a mentor and role model, with prominent mentees including Trevor Robbins, George Koob, and Amy Arnsten. She is the recipient of numerous honors including Fellowship in the Academy of Medical Sciences and, in 2005, she became a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire.

©2019 CINP | CINP is a registered Scottish Charity, no: SC042462