Log in
  • Home
  • News
  • Siegfried Kasper receives the Arvid Carlosson Medal as CINP Past President

Siegfried Kasper receives the Arvid Carlosson Medal as CINP Past President

March 17, 2021 16:26 | Anonymous

The Arvid Carlsson Medal is given to scientists in recognition of outstanding contributions in the field of neuropsychopharmacology. CINP Presidents receive the medal after their term as well as Pioneer Awardees.

During our first virtual World Congress, Siegfried Kasper was awarded the Arvid Carlsson Medal for his outstanding achievements as CINP President, an office he held from 2018 until the beginning of 2021. The presidency of the college, has previously been held by famous people such as, e.g. Nobel prize-winner Arvid Carlsson, after whom the award is named, who was president in 1978. From Austria, Hans Hoff, who was then Director of the Department of Psychiatry, held the presidency in 1962, followed by prominent figures such as Paul Janssen, Paul Kielholz, Jean Delay, Pierre Denniker and Hans Hippius.

The CINP regards itself as a global institution for promoting knowledge and advanced education in the field of neuropsychopharmacology and has set itself the goal of disseminating knowledge in this field and developing it for the benefit of patients through the medium of its annual world congresses and publication of the International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology.

Siegfried Kasper has conducted numerous studies in the fields of psychobiology, neuropsychopharmacology and clinical psychiatry. He has more than 650 publications listed in PubMed (Google: Citation Index: 47,397; Hirsch-Index: 108, i10-index: 679) and has published more than 250 books or book contributions, as well as relevant textbooks and handbooks in various fields of psychiatry, in both German and English.

Siegfried Kasper is/has been on the board of numerous national and international societies, such as e.g. the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP), European Psychiatric Association (EPA), Austrian Society for Neuropsychopharmacology and Biological Psychiatry (ÖGPB), Austrian Society for Drug Safety in Psychiatry (ÖAMSP) and the Austrian Society for Psychiatry and Psychotherapy (ÖGPP). He was elected onto the Executive Committee of the International College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CINP) for the period 2012 – 2018 and was president of this society from 2018 until 2021. For the 2005 to 2009 term, Kasper was President of the World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry (WFSBP), one of the world’s three leading societies in the field of psychiatry, with a total of 63 member countries across five different continents. He was appointed Honorary President of the WFSBP in 2013. He was also Chair of the World Psychiatric Association (WPA), Section of Pharmacopsychiatry. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists (FRCP, UK), Fellow of the Scandinavian College of Neuro-Psychopharmacology (SCNP), Honorary Member of the Czech, Romanian and Colombian Societies of Psychopharmacology and Biological Psychiatry and of the Ukrainian and Hungarian Societies of Psychiatry and corresponding member of the German Society of Biological Psychiatry (DGBP), as well as a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Kasper is editor of the International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, field editor for the International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology, section editor for Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy and Annals of General Psychiatry, as well as psychiatry editor for the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry. He is on the editorial board of numerous medical journals (54 in all) such as e.g. The Lancet Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, CNS Spectrums, Journal of Affective Disorders, Pharmacopsychiatry and European Archives of Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience.

Siegfried Kasper has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the universities of Craiova and Cluj-Napoca in Romania and the University of Thessaloniki in Greece. He has also has been appointed honorary/visiting professor by the following universities: University of Hong Kong, China, 2004; Universidad Andrés Bello, Santiago de Chile, Chile, 2014; Aino University in Osaka, Japan, 2015; Kolkata Institute of Psychiatry, Department of Health & Family Welfare, India 2016; University of Hiroshima, Japan, 2017 and Belgrade University School of Medicine, Serbia, 2017.

He holds the Grand Decoration of Honour in Silver for Services to the Austrian Republic and the Austrian Cross of Honour for Science and Art, 1st Class, the Decoration of Honour in Gold for Services to the City of Vienna, in addition to numerous other national and international awards.

©2024 CINP