Log in

Pioneer Award

The Award is given at each Congress to three individuals to honour those who have made major contributions to the field of neuropsychopharmacology. The candidate should have made major contributions and must be internationally recognized as significant to the growth of the field.
Two CINP Pioneer Awardees will be recognized at a ceremony during the 33rd CINP World Congress taking place in Taipei, Taiwan, from June 9-12, 2022. They will receive free attendance to the congress, the CINP Arvid Carlsson plaque as well as travel support.


The Call for Nominations is now closed. Thank you for all nominations received which are currently under review by the Fellowship & Awards Committee.

Previous Winners

  • 2022 - Toshitaka Nabeshima (Japan), Nancy Andreasen (USA), Tomas Hökfelt (Sweden)
  • 2020 - Oleh Hornykiewicz (Austria), Torgny Svensson (Sweden), Judith Rapoport (USA)
  • 2018 - Kjell Fuxe (Sweden), Hans-Jürgen Möller (Germany), Robert Post (USA), Susan Iversen (UK)
  • 2016 - George Aghajanain (USA), Sun Kil Min (Republic of Korea), Herbert Meltzer (USA), Stuart Montgomery (UK)
  • 2014 - Julien Mendlewicz (Belgium), Thomas Südhof (USA), Solomon Snyder (USA)
  • 2012 - William Bunney (USA), Karl Rickels (USA), Moussa L. Youdim (Israel)
  • 2010 - Per Bech (Denmark), Salomon Langer (Israel), Teruo Okuma (Japan)
  • 2008 - Jean-Pierre Changeux (France), Samuel Gershon (USA), Hannah Steinberg (UK)
  • 2006 - Leonard Cook (USA), Fridolin Sulser (USA), Merton Sandler (UK)
  • 2004 - Hanns Hippius (Germany), Alfred Pletscher (Switzerland), Herman M. van Praag (The Netherlands)
  • 2002: Frank Ayd, Jr. (USA), Arvid Carlsson (Sweden), Jonathan Cole (USA)

©2021 CINP