Log in

Rafaelsen Young Investigators Award

In 1986 Ole Rafaelsen and William Bunney were instrumental in establishing a CINP programme supporting the attendance of young scientists at the XVth CINP Congress in 1986. That programme was posthumously named the Rafaelsen Fellowship Award to honor Dr. Rafaelsen, who died in 1987.
The recipients of the award will be chosen by an international scientific jury. A number of awardees will be selected and presented with awards consisting of round trip economy air travel, up to four night’s accommodation, a certificate, a cash stipend including an element for ground transportation and waived registration fees at the next World Congress. The selected recipients may also have the opportunity to present their poster as part of a Rafaelsen Young Investigators Travel Award Winners session under a new initiative within CINP.


  • The Young Investigator Award is open to individual’s world-wide, independent of nationality, sex or race.
  • Applications must be sponsored by a CINP member.
  • Those nominated may be researchers or clinicians, but must have made a commitment to the field of neuropsychopharmacology.
  • Individuals must have a doctorate degree, be working full-time in neuropsychopharmacology research, teaching, or clinical activities, have not reached his/her 36th birthday in the year in which the award is made (i.e., no older than 35 years of age as of 31st December 2019).
  • Each Awardee must commit to present a poster at the Congress.
  • Awardee must commit to attendance for the entire duration of the Congress.

2018 Winners

  • Chiara Bortolasci, Brazil
  • Chie Shimmoto-Mitsuyma, Japan
  • Felipe Gomez, USA
  • Gabriel Rodrigo Fries, Brazil
  • Georgios Schortsauitis, Switzerland
  • Giovanni Abrahao Salum, Brazil
  • Ji-Seou Seo, USA
  • Mauish Kumar Jha, India
  • Petru Naudé, South Africa
  • Will Lawn, United Kingdom

2017 Winners

  • Fernando Caravaggio, Canada

2016 Winners

  • Anand Guruajan, Ireland
  • Daniel Quintana, Australia
  • Divya Mehta, Australia
  • Dawn Ionsecu, USA
  • Gregor Gryglewski, Austria
  • Giulia Treccani, Italy
  • Jee Hyun Kim, Australia
  • Jiamei Lian, Australia
  • Jihook Cha, Japan
  • Tom Freeman, United Kingdom

©2019 CINP | CINP is a registered Scottish Charity, no: SC042462